The Alabama Chief Technology Officer Academy is a certification program designed for those who currently serve as their system’s technology director and for those who aspire to such positions.  


The AL-CTO Academy is unique. It is founded on the understanding that the leadership responsibilities and expertise required for this role are tremendously complex and dynamic. Success in the role of a K-12 CTO means possessing and maintaining a high level of competency in both education and technology, not just one or the other. Regardless of the participant’s background, the program has much to offer. It is designed to assist the participant in developing higher levels of competency in the full range of CTO responsibilities while ensuring that Alabama’s unique state requirements and opportunities are covered.  Throughout the program participants will share with and learn from other professionals, leading to personal and professional growth.

Program History

The original AL-CTO program was developed ALET. During its development, designers of the program met with the Alabama State Department of Education leaders. SDE leaders acknowledge the need for and the benefits of the program and encouraged its development. However, participants should be aware that attaining AL CTO certification does not require school systems to change the graduate’s job title or pay.

In 2022, ALET established a partnership with University of Montevallo professors Dr. Jennifer Alexiou-Ray and Dr. Cassie Raulston, both long time ALET members, in order to updated the program. The program was rebranded as the Alabama Chief Technology Officer Academy in the summer of 2022. The updated program retains much of it’s former structure and content, but the completion of the program will require an additional time investment and study. 

Announcing the CTO Academy


Anyone meeting the criteria may apply to participate in ALET’s CTO Academy. The criteria for participation are intended to establish and maintain program rigor and high quality, not to discriminate against any interested candidate. The criteria and order of acceptance are as follows:

  • ALET Delegate Members serving in a school system’s highest EdTech leadership position regardless of years of experience in education
  • ALET General Members having a minimum of three years of experience working in the education field


The AL-CTO Academy consists of six courses, covering all major responsibilities of the position.  The professional strands are patterned after the CoSN Certified Educational Technology Leader (CETL) framework but are tailored for Alabama. Please note that the CETL program and AL-CTO program are different certifications. Neither is a pre-requisite for the other.



Applications for the 2023 CTO Academy are now closed.   

Time Commitment and Schedule

Participants will complete 54 hours over a 12 month period.  Participants should be prepared to attend ALET’s 3 major events and attend four additional meeting dates throughout the year.  


The one-time course fee is $100. Participants are responsible for their own travel, lodging, and meals.


ALET is officially beginning the re-certification process. The Alpha, Beta, and Charlie cohorts will have two years to complete and submit the documentation in order to retain their certification. Please read this document for more information and important links – ALCTO Recertification Policy. The timelines are as follows:

  • ALPHA, BETA, and CHARLIE documentation due by June 1, 2022
  • DELTA documentation due by June 1, 2023
  • ECHO documentation due by June 1, 2024


VP of Professional Learning – Tim Brothers (

AL CTO Graduates

Allen TaylorWalker CountyAlpha
Anthony KingstonAlabaster CityAlpha
April ChamberlainTrussville CityAlpha
Barbara BurchardElmore CountyAlpha
Beth McKinney Athens CityAlpha
Brigett StewartJacksonville CityAlpha
Bruce EllardCullman CountyAlpha
Bryan PhillipsHoover CityAlpha
Chris Jenks Tuscaloosa CityAlpha
Craig BatesTalladega CountyAlpha
Devlynne BarnesMonroe CountyAlpha
Eric BurrageOxford CityAlpha
Glen Granberry
Lee CountyAlpha
Jana HoggleSatsuma CityAlpha
Jason Truett
Lauderdale CountyAlpha
Jenel TravisCalhoun CountyAlpha
Jeremy KingBaldwin CountyAlpha
Joanne StephensBirmingham CityAlpha
Joel Andrews Russellville CityAlpha
Juan Cepero Dale CountyAlpha
Tommy WhittenMadison County SchoolsAlpha
Kelli LaneHoover CityAlpha
Kevin StephensonMuscle Shoals CityAlpha
Kevin ThompsonCoosa CountyAlpha
Kim ArringtonChilton CountyAlpha
Michael FowlkesArab CityAlpha
Sean HolmesGuntersville CityAlpha
Stephanie SnyderPike CountyAlpha
Tim BrothersAttalla CityAlpha
Tim SoutherlandHartselle CityAlpha
William MartinMarengo CountyAlpha
Edward WillisMorgan CountyAlpha
Wayne YoungOzark CityAlpha
Stacey WeaverPell CityAlpha
Dr. Chris WestbrookFlorence City ShoolsAlpha
Jennifer Alexiou-RayUniversity of MontevalloBeta
Eujon AndersonTroy CityBeta
Steve BlairMontgomery CountyBeta
Bob BlalockHouston CountyBeta
Brian CraigSheffield CityBeta
Calan DanielRandolph CountyBeta
Regina DavisChoctaw CountyBeta
Bret DehoffBrewton CityBeta
Louis DelbertColbert CountyBeta
Emily ElamDecatur CityBeta
Sandra GuinnFranklin CountyBeta
Benny GuthrieCullman CountyBeta
Brad JohnsonEnterprise CityBeta
Verlander JonesPerry CountyBeta
Joani KayMtn. Brook CityBeta
Tony LaRueScottsboro CityBeta
Todd ManleyFlorence CityBeta
Sharon MummMtn. Brook CityBeta
Brian NarrellBlount CountyBeta
DevVon PettwayMidfield CityBeta
Cassie RaulstonUniversity of MontevalloBeta
Stacy RodgersEnterprise CityBeta
Stacy RoysterOpelika City SchoolsBeta
Matthew ShellButler CountyBeta
Paula StanbridgeMtn. Brook CityBeta
Robert StewartGreene CountyBeta
Russ StewartSt. Clair CountyBeta
Bradley StrotherClay CountyBeta
Teresa ThomasBirmingham CityBeta
Greg TitshawFort Payne CityBeta
Taylor ArmstrongVestavia City SchoolsCharlie
Susan ChandlerJasper City SchoolsCharlie
Rick CortrightDallas County SchoolsCharlie
Dafne StokesChickasaw City SchoolsCharlie
Matt FullerTalladega City SchoolsCharlie
Andrew JacksonLeeds City SchoolsCharlie
Wesley LawleyBibb County AchoolsCharlie
Dr. Benitha MathewsLowndes County SchoolsCharlie
Aaron NewMadison City SchoolsCharlie
Mary RainesFayette County SchoolsCharlie
Jackie SanesPhenix City SchoolsCharlie
Mark WilsonMadison County SchoolsCharlie
Lauren WoolleyShelby County SchoolsCharlie
Melanie BarkleyAthens City SchoolsCharlie
Ingrid Abner, Ph.D.Tarrant City SchoolsDelta
Fabian BauerschmidtRussell County SchoolsDelta
Heidi ChambersOneonta City SchoolsDelta
Corey CochranCleburne County SchoolsDelta
Josh HowardGeneva County SchoolsDelta
Geoff JonesHenry County SchoolsDelta
Keith PriceVestavia Hills City SchoolsDelta
Amy Steen-HurstAnniston City SchoolsDelta
Suzanne StocktonTuscumbia City SchoolsDelta
Michael TownsendTuscaloosa County SchoolsDelta
Laura Ware, Ed.D.Jefferson County SchoolsDelta
Desiree Smith, Ed.D.Homewood City SchoolsDelta
Julian SmithHoover City SchoolsEcho
Matt BlackPell City SchoolsEcho
Zane HardingerFort Payne City SchoolsEcho
Andrew ClickLee County SchoolsEcho
Mandy LoremanPhenix City SchoolsEcho
Russ SmithGuntersville City SchoolsEcho
Stacey GrayEtowah County SchoolsEcho
Derric JonesAlexander City SchoolsEcho
Landon PickardAuburn City SchoolsEcho
Nic CardwellChilton County SchoolsEcho
Steve CochranSatsuma City SchoolsFoxtrot
Rebecca ColemanGreene County SchoolsFoxtrot
Gene GilmoreAuburn City SchoolsFoxtrot
Tommy MilsteadTuscumbia City SchoolsFoxtrot
Brian QuillinArab City SchoolsFoxtrot
Michael SandersChamber County SchoolsFoxtrot